Thursday, May 20, 2010

Tell Senators to Co-Sponsor the Student Non-Discrimination Act

Senator Al Franken (D) Minnesota introduced the Student Non-Discrimination Act (SNDA) along with 22 other senate co-sponsors of the legislation. The bill will prohibit discrimination and harassment and provide for a learning environment that values respect and acceptance for all.

According to GLSEN:

Nearly 9 out of 10 LGBT students (86.2%) experience harassment at school because of their sexual orientation, and 60.8% feel unsafe at school because of their sexual orientation, according to GLSEN's 2007 National School Climate Survey.

The harassment clearly affects students' ability to learn. A third of LGBT students (32.7%) missed a day of school in the past month because of feeling unsafe, five times higher than a national sample of all students.
The following is a list of senators currently co-sponsoring the bill:

SNDA is co-sponsored by Senators Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), John Kerry (D-Mass.), Tom Harkin (D-Iowa), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.), Russ Feingold (D-Wisc.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Chris Dodd (D-Conn.), Mark Begich (D-Alaska), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Robert Menedez (D-N.J.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), and Daniel Akaka (D-Hawaii).

Please make sure to urge your senators to join in co-sponsoring this important piece of legislation.

Contact your senators by email or by phone at (202) 224-3121.

Also be sure to lobby your congressmember on SNDA a similar bill in the house under HR 4530.

No comments:

Post a Comment