Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Utah Senate Bill 32 (SB 32) Wrongful Death Amendments

The Senate Judiciary Committee in Utah will be holding a hearing at 2pm, Tuesday, January 27, at the State Capitol Building, in Room 250.

On the committees agenda will be SB 32 the Wrongful Death Amendments sponsored by Sen. McCoy.

This bill would allow people to designate another adult to have standing in court if they die due to negligence or malpractice. Grandparents, siblings, and partners should not be locked out of the courts when a loved one is killed in these circumstances.

Equality Utah is asking us to contact members of the Senate Judiciary committee to support SB 32 today!

Sen. Jon J. Greiner
jgreiner@utahsenate.org
(801) 621-0423

Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard
lhillyard@utahsenate.org
(435) 753-0043

Sen. Mark B. Madsen
mmadsen@utahsenate.org
(801) 361-4787

Sen. Scott D. McCoy
smccoy@utahsenate.org
(801) 359-2544

Sen. Ross I. Romero
rromero@utahsenate.org
(801) 364-2451

Sen. Michael G. Waddoups
waddoups@utahsenate.org
(801) 967-0225

Sen. Chris Buttars (Chair)
dcbuttars@utahsenate.org
(801) 561-0535

4 comments:

Scot said...

I've done the calling, but I'm upset I have a meeting at 2 that I can't change. Nevertheless, it will be interesting to see how this first bill does.

Queers United said...

thanks scot

Anonymous said...

:(
http://qsaltlake.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=1033:breaking-first-common-ground-bill-killed-in-committee&catid=26:local

imnottrent said...

this makes me so sad. lose a bit of faith in humanity. soon, it may all be gone.

Post a Comment