Monday, April 27, 2009

Tennessee Hate Crimes Bill Moves Forward

Last week the Tennessee House Criminal Practice Subcommittee passed a bill that would add gender identity or expression to the states hate crimes legislation.

The bill now moves forward to the full House Judiciary Committee, please urge the following members to vote in favor of HB 0335:

Kent Coleman (D-Murfreesboro), Chair, rep.kent.coleman@capitol.tn.gov
Jon Lundberg (R-Bristol), Vice-Chair, rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
Janis Sontany (D-Nashville), Secretary, rep.janis.sontany@capitol.tn.gov

Eddie Bass (D-Prospect), rep.eddie.bass@capitol.tn.gov
Karen Camper (D-Memphis), Bill Co-sponsor, rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
Vance Dennis (R-Savannah), rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov
Chad Faulkner (R-Luttrell), rep.chad.faulkner@capitol.tn.gov
Henry Fincher (D-Cookeville), rep.henry.fincher@capitol.tn.gov
Brian Kelsey (R-Germantown), rep.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov
Judd Matheny (R-Tullahoma), rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov
Mike Stewart (D-Nashville), Bill Co-sponsor, rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov
Eric Watson (R-Cleveland), rep.eric.watson@capitol.tn.gov

The House Judiciary Committee will vote on HB0335 next Wednesday, April 29.



H/T to Tennessee Transgender Political Coalition

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment